Founder Chat: How does the development team work?

Another week, another question!

We are continuing with our new initiative Founder Chat, and today’s question is: How does the development team work?

@bram, our co-founder and CEO, will answer it shortly. Join the conversation and ask follow-up questions in the comments :smiling_face:

:grey_exclamation:You can submit your questions for the future via this link.

My background is in software development, and I’ve worked for agencies, startups, and large organizations. This ranged from being a solo developer to large teams, and allowed me to learn about how to build scalable web applications from scratch, including UI/UX, backend, frontend, DevOps, etc. During this period, I’ve seen what does and doesn’t work in my opinion. I try to apply my experience to how the development team works at Baserow, although every new hire brings valuable ideas on board.

We typically hire full-stack developers who have backend and frontend experience because we want a single developer to be able to build a big feature from scratch. This is because I think developers should have ownership over a task, and not constantly depend on other team members, which can delay the whole process. This also allows us to ship features fast without sacrificing on code quality.

In the early days of Baserow, I was still spending 90% of my time of writing code. This has unfortunately gone down to roughly 10%. I think it’s important to stay hands on for as long as possible, not only because I enjoy writing code, but also to share my vision as much as possible. The more I can share my vision, the more this will be transferred to new hires by existing team members. This is why team members that join early on make the culture within a company.