Protection Against Accidental Removal of Linked Elements

There’s always the chance that a user might accidentally delete an item from the “link to table” field. We even had a recent issue in Airtable where someone mistakenly removed a client from a contract, leading to errors in our monthly financial report. It took us an hour to figure out what went wrong.

It would be beneficial to have some sort of safeguard against this. Perhaps a confirmation pop-up could appear when someone tries to unlink an element, or maybe unlinking could only be done from the detailed view of a field. Other solutions could work too.

I think that adding one more click just to confirm deletion will in many cases slow down the working process with the database. This is what I like in baserow - potential speed of productivity (minimum steps needed to achieve what I want), easy use, and effectivity.

Btw. if you delete something accidentally in a row, you can immediately use undo (several undo’s are possible too). I know it surely cannot help if you do many more operations after you made a mistake and then you figure out it much later. But working in the database is just data critical, so one has to be careful when working with data. On the other side, I believe that when you accidentally click the cross and delete something, you probably know about it (you see that it disappeared) and you can use the undo button immediately.

Thanks for the feedback, @Alexander. I agree with @marcus on this. I’m afraid adding a confirmation pop-up will make the linking process more complicated.

Nevertheless, I will discuss this request with the team. Perhaps we can find an alternative solution or workaround.

I agree that the two solutions I proposed might result in additional clicks, but perhaps there’s another effective UI/UX approach that could be explored.