Question about data manipulation

Hello everyone! I’m new to Baserow and I have a question regarding data manipulation. To better illustrate my question, I’ll use the Recipe Book template provided by the platform. Taking the example of row 2 in the Dishes table, a Cheese Burger has a list of ingredients associated with its composition, and in the “Cost (all ingredients)” field, the unit cost of each ingredient is summed up. My question is, how can I create a new field with the quantities used for each ingredient, in order to multiply the unit cost by the quantity (example: Mustard - Quantity: 30g x Cost: $2 = $0.60), and then sum up each multiplication to obtain the final cost of the recipe?

Hello @igormts ,

I think you need to structure your tables slightly differently. Here a screenshot of what I mean:

First of all you need a table where you link your dish with every single ingredient where you can define the quantity, the price per unit, and the total cost of for that specific ingredient for the dish.

Screenshot 2023-06-07 at 18.41.08

Then in the dishes table you can do a sum(lookup('PerDishIngredient', 'Cost')) to have the total cost for the dish.

I hope this can help you,
davide

1 Like

Thank you for the feedback, David! I had a feeling I would have to do it that way, but I was hoping to find a more optimized approach because the system I’m developing will be multi-company and will consume a lot of table rows since each recipe has an average of 12 ingredients.

It might exists a more complicated way to solve the problem using fewer rows in the database, but is it really worth it?

Baserow can easily handle millions of rows, and simple data structures like this allow for flexibility and simplicity in the final application.

If my math is correct, 12 lines of ingredients per dish + 1 line for the dish means you need totals to 13 lines on average, which means you can store more than 200 dishes in the free plan.