Understaing expressions

Hi,
Need help to write a really simple script that remove a underscore if its alone like “"
In total it adds up “name1” + "
” + “name2” + “_” “name3” so that would be name1_name2_name3
but if one of the fields is empty it should not return underscores like name2 but just name2 or
just name1_name3 etc.

I’m a newbie and figured it out on airtable with the help of chatgpt but chatgpt dont understand baserow so i’m out of luck.

Not an easy one, but I think you can fix this with the following formula

concat(field('Title'),if(or(field('Title') = '',field('Subtitle') = ''),'','_'),field('Subtitle'),if(and(field('Subtitle') = '',field('Description') = ''),'','_'),field('Description'))

In plain english: concatenate the following fields:

• Always start with the value of the field Title
  • check if the field Title or the field Subtitle have text in them. If yes: add the underscore, otherwise add an empty string
  • Always add the value of the field Subtitle
  • Check if the field Subtitle and the field Description both have a value. If yes: add the underscore, otherwise an empty string
  • Always add the value of the field Description

I used the following table structure and values to test the formula

Regards
Frederik

Thanks thats exatcly it. Thanks!

Any idea how to train Chatgpt to help people like me?

Chat gpts solution on airtable:
& IF({{ Title }}, “" & {{ Title }}, “”)
& IF({{ Subtitle }}, "
” & {{ Subtitle }}, “”)

But that doesn’t translate to baserow.
Is baserow and airtable expressions based on different launguages?
Sorry for all the newbie questions :slight_smile:

Hi,

I am not an expert in AI or ChatGPT, so I cannot help you with that. Baserow uses it own formula language:

Baserow formulas are written in the open source Baserow Formula language which is a simple expression based language similar to formulas you will find in other spreadsheet tools.